Filipino group elects new officers

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

THE Bayani or Heroes Association, one of the affiliated groups of the United Filipino Organization, elected its new officers on Feb. 14 at Kanoa Resort.

Long-time member Leonila Mendoza was elected president; Yolanda De Ramos, vice president; Mario Mayuga, secretary; Anastacia Mercado, treasurer; Ladyvir Canape, auditor; Alma Hilaria, public relations officer; and Samuel Justo, Teogenes Mendoza, Jaime Del Peralta, and Jojo Sotto, marshals.

The board members are Fernando Enano, Nelida Atalig, Marie Meister, Lolita Velasco, Ronald De Ramos, Mario Mayuga, Ladyvir Canape, and Leonila Mendoza.

In her remarks, the new president said she had second thoughts about accepting the “challenge,” but added that the members guaranteed her their support.

Bayani Association’s newly elected president, Leonila Mendoza, center seated, poses with fellow officers and members.  Contributed photo

United Filipino Organizations president Marcelo Masilungan, who inducted the Bayani officers, commended them for implementing projects that benefit the community.

He also thanked the Bayani Association for supporting UFO.

Founded in 2001, the Bayani Association was originally composed of participants in the Philippine Overseas Labor Office programs under the Philippine Consulate General’s Office on Saipan.

Since the consulate shut down in 2012, the Bayani Association’s membership has expanded.

For more information, call Leonila Mendoza at 287-7563 or Mario Mayuga at 285-1021.

Read more articles