MHS JROTC holds first virtual awards ceremony

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

THE Marianas High School Junior Reserve Officers’ Training Corps held its first ever virtual awards ceremony on Monday.

In light of the Covid-19 pandemic, the cadets had to observe “the new norm” of social distancing as they celebrated their accomplishments virtually.

The mistress of ceremonies, Cadet Maj. Jessica Liu, gave the opening remarks on behalf of the Dolphin Battalion cadets, thanking their school year 2019-2020 school administration, staff, as well as the community, including sponsors, National Office Supply, Kanoa Resort, Fiesta Resort, and The Shack, for their support throughout the year, especially with the logistics for the JROTC Annual Military Ball, the first Extreme Raider Challenge, and  service learning projects.

The newly appointed battalion commander, Cadet Lt. Col. Jose Reyes, expressed the battalion’s well wishes to the graduating seniors, and also extended its gratitude to the Board of Education members for the work they continue to do for the public school students of the Commonwealth.

Dolphin Battalion Army Instructor SFC Albert Lujan delivers his remarks on Monday during the MHS JROTC first ever virtual awards ceremony. MHS JROTC photo

C/Lt. Colonel Reyes especially thanked BOE vice chairman, retired Sgt. Maj. Herman Atalig, and Associate Commissioner for Student Support Services Dr. Yvonne Pangelinan for their continuous support toward the JROTC program.

Reyes also recognized the cadets, former staff members, and leadership for their perseverance and dedication throughout the school year.

In his remarks, the Dolphin Battalion Army Instructor, Sgt. First Class Albert Lujan said: “If there is anything I have taught these past and present cadets, it is about leadership. Leadership is not easy, as some have found out, but the rewards will come later with experience.”

He added, “Dolphin cadets are truly the only reason why I do what I do. I am honored to be your AI. To all administrators, teachers, mothers, and fathers, I thank you for giving me the opportunity to train and mentor your children.”

Thse are the awardees this year:

  • U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award — Cadet Captain Eejai Metran
  • American Legion (Scholastic) Award — Cadet Sergeant Major Matthew Candare
  • American Legion (General Military Excellence) Award — Cadet First Lieutenant Ruth Sobremisana
  • American Veterans or AMVETS Award — Cadet First Lieutenant Lance Asistores
  • Daedalian Award — Cadet Captain Kaywin Aguon
  • Daughters of the American Revolution Award — Cadet Captain Christine Quebral
  • Military Officers Association of America Award — Cadet First Lieutenant Joan Repoberbio
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart Award — Cadet Major Ashley Gapasin
  • Military Order of the World Wars Award — Cadet Private 2nd Class Anastasia Shamanaeva
  • National Sojourners Award — Cadet Captain Ariel Lapuz
  • Sons of American Revolution Award — Cadet Captain Kelvin Ordonez
  • Veterans of Foreign War Award — Cadet Corporal Tyller Ngewakl and Cadet Private First Class Shaira Valle
  • Military Officers Association of America Award Cadet Captain Maria Sablan
  • Non-Commissioned Officer Association Award — Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Jose Reyes
  • Retired Enlisted Association Award — Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Daryll De Luna
  • Reserve Officers Association JROTC Award — Cadet Captain John Laborce
  • National Society United States Daughter of 1812 Award — Cadet First Lieutenant Jaibelle Nelmida
  • Good Conduct Ribbon — Cadet Drew Bayot
  • Commendation Ribbon — Cadet Frann Billy
  • Excellent Staff Performance Ribbon — Cadet Mariah Katelyn Gapasin
  • Cadet of the Year — Cadet Shaina Dimalanta
  • Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year — Cadet Lawrence Salamat
  • Instructor Leadership Awards — Cadets Erich Balajadia, Henin Pamintuan, Katelyn Gapasin, and Christine Quebral
  • Distinguished Cadet Ribbons — Cadets Cassandra Roque, Jessica Liu, Ariel Lapuz, and Kenisha Roque
  • Academic Excellence Ribbons — Cadets Kevin Valencia, Jigger Parayaoan, Eejai Metran, and Kenisha Roque
  • Superior Cadet Awards — Cadets Christina Kim, Teody Valenzuela, Precious Epan, and Tyrell Ngewakl

In addition, the virtual awards ceremony included promoting and awarding the following cadets with the Blackhats Ribbon (N-3-12) for their completion of Blackhats, a rigorous program giving cadets the opportunity to bring out their hidden leadership potential and prepare them for future leadership positions: Elijah Aguon, Allan Arcega, Andrea Arriola, Erich Balajadia, Marie Batallones, Christter Benig, Frann Billy, Kristine Briones, Sabino Cabrera, Angelene Faith Cacdac, Katie Choi, Heart De Luna, Abegail Decena, Shaina Dimalanta, Andre Jacosalem, Sydney Lim, Tyller Ngewakl, Casandra Roque, Michelle Ryu, Maggie Ann Sablan, Neo Skerei, Amber Sidney Sureta, Joerome Teigita, and Anthony Villagomez.

November 2020 pssnewsletter

previous arrow
next arrow

Read more articles

Visit our Facebook Page

previous arrow
next arrow