James Benavente is MGA Ace of Aces

  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

JAMES Benavente proved that he is the best of the best as he bagged the Marianas Golf Association 2019-2020 Ace of Aces title, besting 11 other aces over the weekend at the LaoLao Bay Golf &  Resort. 

The back nine seemed to be the toughest part of the course, but Benavente, the September ace,  avoided most of the bogeys to earn a score of 42. His game further improved in the front nine, scoring 26 for a gross of 68. With a handicap of 15, he ended with a net score of 53 to take the lead.

On day two of the event, Benavente continued to shine as he held a steady pace. He slightly refined his swing, scoring 39 in the back nine but had a setback in the front nine, scoring 43 for a gross of 82 and a net of 67.

 James Benavente, left, holds the Marianas Golf Association Ace of Aces trophy as he poses for a photo with Verna Deleon Guerrero. Contributed photo


 James Benavente, center, holds the Marianas Golf Association Ace of Aces trophy while posing with other MGA members.  Contributed photo

Combining his day-one and day-two net scores, Benavente came out with a net total of 120 to claim the Ace of Aces title.

Ron Benavente settled for second place. On day one, he shot 50 on the back nine and 43 on the front for a gross of 93. Aided by a handicap of 18, his net was 75. On day two, he scored 41 on both ends of the course for a gross of 82, a net of 64 and a net total of 139.

Finishing third was Gerald Guerrero. He stayed on the middle ground, scoring 42 and 46 on day one for a gross of 88 and with a handicap of 17 had a net of 71. He stayed strong on day two with a score of 43 and 48 for a gross of 91, a net of 74 and a net total of 145.

JJ Atalig tied for fourth place with Ned Norita, both sharing the same net total of 147. Sebastian Camacho came in at sixth place with a net total of 150; Patrick George was seventh, 154; Dung Tenorio, eighth, 155; and Charles Peters, ninth, 163.

MGA also welcomed its newest members: Chris Grove, Christopher Leon Guerrero, Jay Santos, Benji Pangelinan, Jess Ramon and Herm Kintol.

Read more articles

previous arrow
next arrow