The Kagman Elementary School students inducted into the National Elementary Honor Society pose for a group photo.

(KagES) — Kagman Elementary School held its induction ceremony for the National Elementary Honor Society on May 31, 2021 at Laolao Bay & Golf Resort’s The Grill Restaurant. Ten students were inducted into the school’s chapter.

To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.6 or higher. Additionally, candidates must meet high standards of responsibility, service, and leadership. 

Leadership is based on the student’s participation in community or school activities or election to an office. To meet the service requirement, the student must have been active in service projects in the school and community.

Students are reviewed by a faculty council appointed by the principal.

As members of NEHS, these students will now engage in a number of chapter service projects.

Dr. Ignacia T. Demapan, principal of Kagman Elementary School, in her congratulatory remarks  commended the students for achieving NEHS membership.  She emphasized that their membership is more than an honor.  It is an ongoing responsibility and obligation to continue demonstrating these outstanding qualities that resulted in their NEHS selection, she added.

She also acknowledged the parents for providing support to their students to help them develop leadership, cultivate a love of giving back, and prepare for the next phase in their academic journey and beyond.

Dr. Demapan congratulated everyone, including the NEHS advisors, the NEHS Faculty Council, the teachers and staff of Kagman Elementary School, and thanked them for their dedication, commitment, and partnership. 

The students inducted into the program this year are:

4th Grade

Mikyla Skye DLC Cabrera

Malana Saige DLG Cabrera

Rikka Marie DLC Lacson

Kevin Joseph R. Maratita Jr.

Justo Jeremiah Quitugua

Patrick Anthony Quitugua Jr.

5th Grade

Mark Alexander R. Aquino

Patience Arianna S. Borja

Jillian Maureen Espelarga

Vicente Jesus A. Leon Guerrero

NEHS is modeled on its companion organization, the National Honor Society, which is the nation’s oldest and best-known student recognition program. NEHS was founded in 2008 by the National Association of Secondary School Principals, which is also the parent organization for NHS, in partnership with the National Association of Elementary School Principals Foundation. Visit www.nehs.org for more information.

comments powered by Disqus