(PSS) — Marianas High School, the largest public school in the Commonwealth, awarded diplomas to 335 high seniors who are either going to college, joining the military, or entering the workforce.

MHS held the two-hour graduation ceremony for its Class of 2021 at the Commonwealth Ports Authority Airport field on May 28, Friday.

Car horns blared, lively music was played and crowds cheered as the graduates received their diplomas.

Holly Sarah Binondo Liban is the class valedictorian and recipient of the Board of Education Academic Achievement Award.

The salutatorian is Seung Ju Lee who is also the recipient of the Commissioner of Education Academic Achievement Award.

The rest of the top 10 are: (3) Ryan Minje Kang, (4) Lillian Takegami Podziewski, (5) Jin Seok Park, (6) Stephanie Tan Flores, (7) Jhanylin Marielle Lambino Cruz (8) Catherine Byen, (9) Katrina Ortizo Costales and (10) Gengyan Liu.


The Governor’s Award was presented to Ramhae Andrea Adaza Awit.

Joseph Li Zhang received the Lt. Governor’s Award.

Victoria Margarita Cabrera Dela Cruz received the Mayor’s Award and the Outstanding Female Graduate Award.

The Principal’s Award was presented to Derik Junior Dela Cruz Reyes.

The Dolphin Award went to Coloma Agualin Bermudes Castro.

The English Language Arts Award went to Holly Sarah Binondo Liban and Jin Seok Park.

Seung Ju Lee and Holly Sarah Binondo Liban received the Science Award.

The Mathematics Award went to Ryan Minje Kang and Seung Ju Lee.

Jhanylin Marielle Lambino Cruz and Seung Ju Lee received the Social Studies Award.

Rinto Takahashi and Sydney Camille King Hinds are the recipients of the Physical Education Award.

The Career Technical Education Award went to Timothy James Sanchez Acosta and Princess Hannah Dizon Battalones.

The Language Other than English Award were given to Tina Chisa Feng Kobayashi and Jodie Rose Ignacio Lazaro.

The JROTC Award went to Henin Zhea Pocsidio Pamintuan and Jessica Rayanna Xiao Liu.

Participating officials

Gov. Ralph DLG Torres, other CNMI and education officials attended the ceremony to congratulate the graduates and their parents.

Also gracing the event were Board of Education Chairman Andrew L. Orsini, BOE Saipan members Maisie B. Tenorio and Gregory Borja, Commissioner of Education Dr. Alfred B. Ada, Associate Commissioner Eric Magofna, Senior Directors Dr. Yvonne Pangelinan, Dr. Rizalina Liwag and Dr. Bobby Cruz as well as Special Education Program Director Donna Flores.

comments powered by Disqus