(PSS) — Eighty-eight Francisco M. Sablan Middle School eighth graders are moving to the next academic level: high school.

 This year, Aleeza Jolia Castro and Leia Joleen Hocog Pangelinan are FMS’s top two promotees.

On Wednesday morning, the school leadership and staff, led by principal Cherlyn Cabrera-Osung and vice principal Carla Sablan, organized a lively a drive-thru promotion ceremony on campus.

The promoted students and their families drove through in beautifully decked out vehicles as a selection of upbeat music was played by the school staff.

Class valedictorian Aleeza Jolia Castro was also the recipient of the Board of Education Award which received from BOE Chairman Andrew L. Orsini.

Class salutatorian Leia Joleen Hocog Pangelinan received the Commissioner of Education Award from Education Commissioner Dr. Alfred B. Ada.

The NAPU Award was presented to Uirom Park while the Middle School Leadership Corps awards went to Aleeza Jolia Castro.

Subject awards

Castro was also the recipient of the subject awards in mathematics, social studies, art, and Chamorro Carolinian Language and Heritage Studies-Carolinian.

Leia Joleen Hocog Pangelinan received the CCLHS-Chamorro subject award, and she and Castro also received the English Language and the Project Lead the Way subject awards.

The science subject award was presented to Andrew Ngitiyeb while Davierrin Blas is the recipient of the computer subject award.

Joining Commissioner Ada and Chairman Orsini for the FMS promotion ceremony were Public School System Federal Programs Officer Tim Thornburgh, Human Resources Officer Lucretia B. Deleon Guerrero, middle school representative and Tanapag Middle School principal Hilda Rios, elementary school representative and Koblerville Elementary School principal Naomi Nishimura and PSS state infrastructure technology officer Jesse Tenorio.

comments powered by Disqus