The new members of the Hopwood Middle School National Junior Honor Society pose for a photo.

Hopwood photo

(HMS) — Hopwood Middle School inducted 24 new members of the prestigious National Junior Honor Society on Saturday, May 22, in the school cafeteria.

The National Junior Honor Society is an international student organization that consists of chapters in middle schools. NJHS elevates a school’s commitment to the values of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. Being a member of the National Honor Society also shows that you are among the best students in your class in terms of academics. It shows a commitment to community service projects and provides you the opportunity to network with peers.

It is estimated that more than one million students participate in NJHS activities worldwide. NJHS chapters are found in all the states and the territories, and around the world.

At HMS, the event’s inspirational guest speaker was recently awarded her doctorate in education with a specialization in digital transformation, the youngest doctor in the field of education in the CNMI, Dr. Riya Nathrani. She took the inductees and members down the memory lane when she was an innocent middle school student at Hopwood, a high school volunteer and active Student Council officer, and her love for teaching.

Victorino Borja, HMS principal, gave the welcoming remarks. Vice principals Karen Manuel and Ben Seman led the inductees to their pledge membership and gave the closing remarks.

The NJHS Hopwood Middle School chapter advisors are Wilma David, Esco Ulloa, Irish San Nicolas,  Victoria Nishida, and  Rhine Reyes.

NJHS members and 2021 inductees


President – Bwilitomwar (Dereck) Rangamar

Vice President – Sylvia Sanchez

Secretary – Rizza Relucio

Treasurer – Yu Xin (Lucy) Chen

Historian – Jermaine Montenejo

PRO – Leilani Attao


8th Grade

Mathea Jenelle Deocares

Donovan Cairo Javier

Mary Grace Kym Legaspi

Irene Huilin Wang

7th Grade

Mark Costales

James Mercader

2020-2021 Inductees

8th Grade

Jedric Jizaiah G. Aniciete

Si Jin Cheng

Francine Joy D. Ebuen

Avril Lazar

Angelo T. Lobo

Milarose Jeanne M. Magno

Julianna Rue Magtalas

Jia Ross Nicdao

Koey Pan

Angieleysha Marie dB. Punzalan

Jean Mae V. Roldan

 7th Grade

Zack I. Camacho

Frances Louise D. Hernandez

Hayden Romeo Igisomar

Kianna Rae A. Palacios

 6th Grade

Kaye Anne Costales

Sarah Islam

Alexa Ralene Panganiban

Rafael N. Pascual

John Peter N. Quidato

Princess Nicole B. Rigua

Simon Roy P. Romero

Jheams Cyrhon A. Sagana

Damien Alfred S. Santos

comments powered by Disqus