The two are neck-and-neck with Bernie Sanders winning the largest pool of delegates from California at 415, and Joe Biden winning the 2nd largest with Texas at 228 delegates. Michael Bloomberg won American Samoa with four delegates and will make a decision on whether he should continue on while Elizabeth Warren lost in her home state of Massachusetts telling voters she has no plans to exit the race anytime soon.

“These are exciting times and you can tell Democrats are fired up based on the amount of people showing up to vote. Over 1.3 million people voted in Virginia for an increase of over 70% compared to 2016. American Samoa also had a larger showing of about 50% compared to 2016 - that’s amazing!” said NMI Democratic National Committeeman Mike White.

On Saturday, March 14, 2020, the NMI Democratic Party will host its 2nd Presidential Caucus on Saipan, Tinian, and Rota. The designated times and venues are forthcoming. All NMI registered voters who want to register as members of the party are welcome and encouraged to participate.

Registered voters and persons who will be eligible to vote on or before Nov 3, 2020 on Saipan, Tinian, and Rota will be able to visit the designated voting sites and cast votes for their Democratic presidential candidate of choice.

As of March 3, Joe Biden, Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, and Michael Bloomberg were the final set for the NMI caucus on March 14. However, this could change depending on who stays in the race between now and then.

Tom Steyer, Andrew Yang, Deval Patrick, Amy Klobuchar, and Pete Buttigieg all qualified for the caucus ballot on March 14, but have since then ended their campaigns. As listed in the NMI Democratic Party’s 2020 Delegate Selection Plan, to qualify for the NMI caucus ballot, presidential candidates needed to be polling at 15% nationally before the Feb. 28 deadline. If a candidate was unable to meet this requirement the alternative would be to collect signatures via petition from 100 registered voters in the CNMI.

Democratic presidential candidates Michael Bloomberg, Deval Patrick, Pete Buttigieg, Andrew Yang and Tom Steyer all collected signatures from local registered voters as an alternative requirement. U.S. Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard did not meet the 15% national polling requirement nor did she collect 100 signatures via petition therefore she did not make the NMI caucus ballot.

“Several commentators want to comment on why Tulsi is still in the race, and to be honest nobody but Tulsi knows why and I respect her a lot for her courage to run. So what if she has an agenda? A woman can’t have ambitions?” asked NMI Democratic Party Chairwoman Nola Kileleman Hix. “Let’s be happy that we have qualified options and we should support Democratic female candidates up and down the ballot all around the country.”

The NMI Democratic Party will soon announce the designated times and locations for the March 14 Democratic Presidential Caucuses to be held on Saipan, Tinian and Rota. All persons interested to become delegates to the 2020 Democratic National Convention in Milwaukee Wisconsin and pledged to any of the presidential candidates should visit to receive a delegate candidacy form and submit their candidacy on or before March 8, 2020.

Joe Biden, Bernie Sanders final candidates for March 14 NMI Democratic caucus
comments powered by Disqus