Speaker Blas Jonathan Attao appointed Rep. Ralph N. Yumul as chairman and House Floor Leader John Paul Sablan as vice chairman of the committee. The members are Reps. Joel Camacho, Joseph Leepan Guerrero, and. Tina Sablan.

The special committee will hold its first meeting at 9:30 a.m., today, Monday in the speaker’s conference room.

In an interview, House Floor Leader Sablan said the special committee will focus on new federal assistance such as the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act funding and those from the Federal Emergency Management Agency, as well as other potential funding sources such as bonds.

The House, he said, believes that the Legislature should take part in planning for the expenditure of federal assistance that aims to address the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on the CNMI.

“I am honored to be part of the special committee,” he added, “and I look forward to working with other members and cooperating with the administration in regards to spending federal financial assistance for Covid-19 pandemic impact.”

comments powered by Disqus